## THIRD PROTOCOL TO AMEND THE REVISED BASIC AGREEMENT ON ASEAN INDUSTRIAL JOINT VENTURES

WHEREAS, the Government of Brunei Darussalam, the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, and the Kingdom of Thailand, hereinafter referred to as the "Member Countries" have on the fifteenth day of December, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Seven signed the Revised Basic Agreement on ASEAN Industrial Joint Ventures, hereinafter referred to by the acronym "Revised BAAIJV";

AND WHEREAS, under Paragraph 3 of Article VI of the Revised BAAIJV amendments may be made thereto by consensus and become effective upon acceptance by all Member Countries;

AND WHEREAS, the Member Countries agree to make certain amendments to the Revised BAAIJV;

## NOW BY THIS PROTOCOL, the Member Countries have agreed as follows:

- 1. The date "31 December 1990" appearing in Article I(5) of the Revised BAAIJV shall be substituted by the date "31 December 1996".
- 2. That the Rule of Origin as provided for under Article I(9) of the Revised BAAIJV which is in accordance with the ASEAN Preferential Trading Arrangements (PTA) shall be replaced with the Rule of Origin requirement under Article 2(4) of the CEPT Scheme.

This Protocol shall come into force on the date of signature by all the Member Countries.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective governments, have signed this Protocol.

For the Government of Brunei Darussalam:

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Republic of Indonesia:

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of Malaysia:

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the

Republic of the Philippines:

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Republic of Singapore:

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand:

Minister of Foreign Affairs