Brief history

The first preparatory meeting of the Asia Pacific Parliamentary Forum was held in Singapore in August 1991. Parliamentarians from nine countries namely, Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Japan, New Zealand, the Philippines, the Republic of Korea, Singapore and the United States, attended.

In December 1991 a second preparatory meeting was held in Canberra with representatives from the original nine countries being joined by parliamentarians from Mexico, the Federated States of Micronesia, Papua New Guinea, Thailand and Brunei (with observer status).

This preparatory meeting established a steering committee chaired by the Honourable Yasuhiro Nakasone, with members from Australia, Japan, Korea, Thailand (ASEAN representative) and the United States.

The inaugural meeting was in held in January 1993 in Tokyo, Japan.